Journey of the Northwest

I’ve decided to start blogging more.  That sounds familiar I bet, eh?  This time though, I suppose it is more real.  I know what I need to do and I just need to do it.  Let’s just say the 3 years worth of writer’s block I’ve been going through might just be over.  My friend, Ryan, even lit a fire under my bum by challenging me to at least one post a week and he would do the same on his blog.  You should definitely check out his work and his words.  He is a fellow fotog and has absolutely amazing perspectives in his photographs.  I thoroughly admire his work and his passion for life and climbing; did I mention he’s a climber? 😉  So having someone I look up to in the photography world tell me that he looks forward to seeing more of my work gave me a boost in confidence and began stirring the great pot of creativity, otherwise known as my brain.

I have a little bit of catching up to do; a little bit might just be the biggest understatement of the year.  I will start with my trip to Oregon at the beginning of April.  I flew into Portland where my friend Mike picked me up from the airport.

Image

This was the second time I had visited Oregon, specifically Smith Rock.  Mike is one of those people who really inspires me.  He has a mental and physical strength that has been built on a foundation of solid willpower.  I have personally learned so much from him about life, about climbing, and about really getting down and dirty and just living.  I have also learned, I will never flake a rope as perfectly as he does every single time.  To give you some back story here, Mike is incredibly picky about the way his rope is flaked and even though I am meticulous my scrupulous work did not meet up to his standards.  So I huffed at him that he was ridiculous and that I was not going to be nice and do his rope work anymore.  Obviously I was still totally willing to help, but I asked permission every time.  Permission was mostly denied.

Image
Mike climbing Crossfire 5.12b The moment this picture was taken, he turned his head to look at me because his belayer reported, “This is the absolute nicest flaked rope I have ever belayed someone on.”

Good times indeed.  While I was in Oregon, I led my first outdoor 5.10d/5.11, More Sand than Kevin and had my first lead fall.  Even though falling terrifies me, I was ecstatic because falling just wasn’t that bad after all.  I’m becoming a better faller. =)  I also attempted leading the first pitch of Magic Light, 5.11.  I made it pretty far, but to me it is a scary lead climb.  My attempt resulted in my entire body shaking which in turn led to my eyes leaking once I was back on the ground.

Image

On my last day in Terrebonne, Mike took me on a motorcycle ride to go see the Alpaca farm in Sisters.  You remember those baby Alpaca pictures I promised a few entries ago?  Well, they’re here!

Image

These particular Alpacas have about 4 inches of fur on them which makes them seem much larger than they actually are.  The farm actually produces Alpaca yarn for sale and has baskets upon baskets of fur and skeins – a knitters heaven.

Image
Don’t you just want to put your face all up in that softness?

Image

The lady showing us around the farm of 400 Alpacas told us that each and every Alpaca has a different face and if you were around them long enough you would eventually be able to tell them apart.

Image

Image

Image

Are you ready for the babies?

Wait for it….

…wait for it.

Image
About five days old. Freakin’ adorable.
ImageTired and soaking up the sun. Ah, to live the life of an Alpaca. I’d be soft all the time!

Image

And of course, what’s a trip to an Alpaca farm without trying on some of the garments?

Image

ImageAnd then again, maybe we are just decked out in awesome, natural afros. Yep. That must be it.
© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/
6 responses to “Journey of the Northwest

Leave a Reply

