Socially Inept

Sometimes, I feel completely and utterly socially incompetent on all levels.  Putting myself out there in the world as something established and stable has always been a struggle for me.  But, maybe we, as humans, aren’t meant to ever be established and stable and branded as such to the world.  I’ve always, always believed that once you are content in life and you’ve stopped trying is the minute you truly start to die inside.  I made a pact to myself many years ago (as if I’m already ancient!) to never stop progressing, to never stop trying new things, and to never stop challenging myself.  So yeah, I could see how my views are incredibly contradictory.

At least this view is pretty. Mt. Sanitas, Boulder, Colorado

At least this view is pretty. Mt. Sanitas, Boulder, Colorado

But, as I’ve become slightly more involved with the communities of Twitter, Facebook, and even the blog world, I’ve been greeted with an overwhelming amount of support.  Yet, I feel with this support comes more responsibility – mainly learning all of these social medias that I have resisted for so long.  I’m a minimalist when it comes to technology.  People are even starting to contact me and find me from outside of the main streams of media that I partake in.  It’s pretty amazing how this whole cyber world works.  So, I’m going to go with it the best that I can.  If you’ve read my last post, you’ll know I’m undertaking a battle with balance.  Unfortunately, that hasn’t improved much since I last wrote.

The little free time I do have, I yearn to play - for sanity of course.

The little free time I do have, I yearn to play – for sanity of course.  So I go on hikes.  (Photo Credit: Bowen Hosford & edited by me.)

That guy, Bo, who took the above photograph (Photo Credit: Basia Majdak & edited by me.

That guy, Bo, who took the above photograph (Photo Credit: Basia Majdak & edited by me.)

Or I enjoy bluebird days of riding the slopes with friends (Photo Credit: Epic Mix)

Or I enjoy bluebird days of riding the slopes with other great friends – The one on the right is Whitney and that’s important information for later! (Photo Credit: Epic Mix)

Yet, even though I seem to come up with all of these photographs of me playing – I still feel like I don’t actually have time to play.  When I am outdoors, I feel like I should be doing other things.  It isn’t that I am avoiding my responsibilities  I actually feel like I get a lot done, but I also feel like it’s never enough.  It’s an endless cycle to say the least.  In addition to that cycle, if I’m outdoors -> I take pictures -> which then need to be sorted -> which then need to be worked on -> which leads to more postings -> which in turns leads to more blogging.  Oof.  That seems to have become my favourite word as of late.

Even through all the muck, there's a pretty sunset at the end.

Even through all the muck, there’s a pretty sunset at the end.

But, to you world, bring it on.  I’m turning another year older this up and coming month (yikes) and I plan to do large amounts of crack (if you know what I mean) in order to celebrate and mandate a much needed vacation.

Until next time, give me your thoughts, your opinions, your stories, and link up with some of my favourite people to follow online: Whitney’s Racing the States Project & Chloe’s Fresh Air Fort Collins Blog.

© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/

3 responses to “Socially Inept

  1. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or
    guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send
    me an email.

Leave a Reply

