Community Involvement

Supporting the community and the people in my life has always been a priority in my life.  Any chance I get to help out in any way I can is pretty much a no-brainer of a yes for me.  Recently, I have had some amazing opportunities to donate some of my photographs to the local community around me.  At the beginning of May, BEYONDgear hosted a fundraising event at the Avery Brewery in Boulder, CO.

Those are my photographs on the donation table! How exciting.

Those are my photographs on the donation table! How exciting.

Yeah, yeah – May was a smidge in the past and I’m just now getting around to posting about it.  However, a little publicity goes a long way.  This past weekend (6.15.2013), the YMCA of Boulder Valley hosted their major fundraising event called the Y SPLASH.  I donated a few prints and a canvas for the cause.  And then, something astounding happened, the YMCA Director of Membership (her name is Angie) approached me about donating an adventure photoshoot.  Angie is an amazing woman with so many talents.  She genuinely loves and cares about her involvement in all sorts of communities: climbing, health, fitness, nutrition, the YMCA obviously, and so much more.  In addition, she pulls phenomenally creative ideas off of blank pages and then snowballs them into fruition.

So, when Angie approached me about her idea I never even thought about saying no.  She said she needed 3 things from me: a bio, a picture of me, and a picture of me doing something.  A day later her designer came up with the layout below.

 

P.S. Disregard the typo as this was the first draft and I just didn't receive a final draft via email.

P.S. Disregard the typo as this was the first draft and I just didn’t receive a final draft via email.

Uhh, can you say hells yeah?  So that’s my major awesome big news as of late (with a few more things in the works!).  I have been contacted by the winner of the package and we are starting to communicate with each other.  I cannot wait to see what the adventure turns into.  It is so rewarding to support and be supported by truly dedicated human beings.  So thank you Asa and thank you Angie for being thoroughly legitimate presences in my life.

Asa, the founder of BEYONDgear; Angie, the YMCA Director of Membership; and me =)

Asa, the founder of BEYONDgear; Angie, the YMCA Director of Membership; and me =)

 

© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/

 

P.S. Remember that photograph I submitted for the American Alpine Club Guide to Membership Photography Contest?  Let me refresh your memory just in case.

Kristina Weyer on Big Guy,  11b.

Kristina Weyer on Big Guy, 11b.

I have gotten official word that the guidebook has been sent to the printers and will be coming out sometime in July!  Also, the Mountainsmith Scream 25 Backpack that I received for winning the contest has suited me more than well.  It comes on all of my adventures with me and is a perfect size for all of my daily activities.  Thanks again AAC.

Leave a Reply

