Titillate These Ideas

Good morning Friday, you look so promising and smitten with the upcoming weekend in tow.

Truth be told, I have been completely swamped in my own entropic consciousness these past two weeks.  As far as a climbing update goes, my pictures from Ten Sleep Canyon in Wyoming are pretty much finished.  I just need to actually write up a trip report.  That being said, other things have taken precedence.

What sort of other things?  Well first, let me tell you about last night.  I attended a trail run with the Bentgate Running Team/Club where La Sportiva was present to demo their Helios and Anaconda trail shoes.  I was the only female at this run in a group of 10 men and 2 men who worked at Bentgate.  Needless to say, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to keep up.  Most of the men had super beefy calves that just screamed “I’m in super, smashing shape!” (Like that alliteration there, eh? eh? eh?!)

Demo set up at the trail head up Golden Gate State Park.

Demo set up at the trail head up Golden Gate State Park.

I have owned a pair of their Helios since my birthday at the beginning of March.  Honestly, the shoe is one of my favourite trail running shoes.  Click here to go check them out.  The minimalist factor of the Helios was incredibly attractive to me and once I felt the shoe in my hands to see how flexible it was, I immediately went head over heels in a love at first site style.  In fact, if we were to get technical here, it has a “highly flexible morphodynamic midsole that adapts to trail features and delivers the perfect amount of cushioning”.  The shoe is breathable and has an “integral gusseted tongue”, which I personally think is super sexy.  The La Sportiva website claims the shoe is good for all levels of trail running and light road use.  However, I find that the shoe is incredibly versatile whether it’s for long distance, short distance, spicy trails, mud, road runs, or hiking.  To boot, La Sportiva donates $10.00 with every sale of their Helios to the HERA Women’s Cancer Foundation.

Okay, okay.  If you’re like me, you’re looking for the possible negatives in a review.  Truth be told, I don’t have many complaints about the shoe.  Although, I do have one complaint that tends to matter a lot to me.  I remember  I went to go climb in Eldorado Canyon after receiving my Helios; my partner reminded me to bring my shoes for the descent afterwards.  I went to go put my shoes on my harness and to my dismay, there was no loop hook on the back of the shoes.  Instead, I found a flat rubbery type of “tab”.  Why La Sportiva chose not to put a loop, I have no idea (especially since they are a big brand in the climbing world) .  I expressed to the rep last night at the trail run and his response: “Don’t even get me started!  But, I will tell you – take a hole puncher and punch a hole in the back of the tab so you can put a carabiner through it.”

I said, “Alright, that’s a really good idea, but won’t the rubber get torn if my shoes get stuck on something while I’m on the wall?”

“Nope, just take a lighter to them and melt the rubber down around the hole and that should seal it just fine.”

It’s a pretty good solution.  Perhaps I’ll have to try it out.  Keep reading and at the end I’ll tell you how the run went.

Regardless, I absolutely love this shoe.

Regardless, I absolutely love this shoe.

After my run last night, I decided I was going to make a stop in the neighbourhood where I grew up.  Every day when I walked to and from elementary school, I passed a house that had a sign for local honey and fresh eggs.  Stopping at this house has been on my to do list for a while now.  I arrived at the house and immediately chastised myself for waiting so long to check it out.  Barking dogs greeted me at the door before an older gentleman by the name of Michael appeared.  After speaking with him, I purchased a huge glass jar of local Wildflower Honey and a dozen, fresh, rainbow-coloured eggs.  I started asking a lot of questions about his process.  He welcomed my  inquiries with an offer to show me around his yard.  I saw his chickens, his garden, and his homing pigeons.  Michael told me he could drive his pigeons to Kansas and they would fly home and relayed, “Sometimes I try to race them home, but they always seem to find a way to beat me!”  Really?  I had absolutely no idea pigeons did that.  And then I saw the stacks of boxes in the front part of his garden.  Bees!  He had his own bees.  There were about 6 or 7 colonies and he asked me if I wanted to feel how heavy they were.  I excitedly said yes.

“Be careful now, it’s really heavy.”

Being a climber and thinking I’m decently strong I covered my bases, “So how hard should I try to lift it?  Like, is it possible for me to knock it over?”

“Well, you’re a tiny little thing, so I doubt you can do any damage.  But, just in case, lift with caution.”

To my surprise I was only able to barely lift the back end of the first bee colony a mere millimeter off of the cinder blocks.  Did you know that the honey that bees create can be over 100 pounds?!  Michael offered to teach me how to collect the honey when it was ready which would be about the end of August.  How freakin’ sweet is that?  He also allowed me to try some of his bees’ honey – it was unlike any honey I’ve ever tried in my life.  There were so many notes of deliciousness dancing on my tongue I wouldn’t even know how to begin to describe the taste.

Enough about that – more tantalizing thoughts.

This weekend I am participating in an Ultimate Frisbee Tournament called GRUB.  It’s a benefit tournament where all proceeds go to the Boulder Food Rescue.

This picture is from a 2012 tournament in Santa Fe, New Mexico.  Really, we are all just drinking teams with a disc problem.

This picture is from a 2012 tournament in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Really, we are all just drinking teams with a disc problem.

I’m excited to spend the weekend in Boulder, Colorado, and to get my run on with my A League Team.  I am super psyched to have a few friends from New Mexico travelling to the good ol’ 303 to join my team.  Unfortunately, they won’t be arriving until 1 or 2 in the morning.  Oof!  I have even managed to raise over $100.00 for the tournament.  Thanks to all the awesome people who donated!

And as for the aspect in my life that has been consuming most of my time:

Recently I joined a team of amazing adventurers for Epic Experience, which puts on all-expenses-paid outdoor adventure camps for ‪#‎cancer‬ fighters. Cancer is a dear topic, close to my heart, as watching my mother battle breast cancer was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to witness. I have pledged to raise $1000 in order to help ‪#‎Adventure4Life‬ reach a goal of $25,000. This cost will cover travel, lodging, and adventures in the outdoors for 12 – 13 cancer fighters and caregivers. At the camps (located outside of Vail, CO), the participants get to play in water, experience travelling mountains, calm themselves through yoga, ride horses, etc. Ultimately, the camp will allow the participants to see that cancer does not define their existence as a human being.

Seriously? How cool is that? Answer: it’s not cool, it’s amazingly freakin’ epic. So please, go check out my challenge and donate for the cause. I would super love it if you were to share the link above with all of your friends and family.

So what’s my challenge?  To run for 48 hours started at the top of the Continental Divide on Loveland Pass.  My blog post is in the works, but I still have some details to hammer out, items to collect, and a map to complete… annnnnnd I’m super busy.

Finally, as for how my trail run went last night?  Oof.  It was pretty brutal.  I usually shy away from sustained inclined trails and the particular trail that was chosen maintained 1000 feet of vertical gain within the first 1.5 miles.  Needless to say, I could not keep up with the main part of the “pack” and took my time with one other dude named Ross and the “tail runner”, Matt, from Bentgate.  I thought to myself, “Man.  Shay.  You’re choosing to run 30 miles on day 1 of your 48 hour run?  What in the hell are you doing?  You’re going to flippin’ kill yourself.”  My negative train of thoughts were just as sustained as the incline.  But then, I made it past the first 2 miles, the trail leveled out and the run felt absolutely amazing.  My friend, Coit, reminds me on a weekly basis: “Shay, you’ve got this.  Stop being so hard on yourself, don’t ever give up, NEVER give up.  In order to get those crazy, massive, in-shape calves, every single one of those guys had to push thru the same level of fitness you’re at now.”  So yeah, I got this 48 hour thing in the bag. 😉

Until then, stay tuned and check out every one else’s adventures by clicking here – what everyone is doing is totally rad

So TGIF!  I get to wear my awesome Epic Experience shirt and jeans to work. :)

So TGIF! I get to wear my awesome Epic Experience shirt and jeans to work. 🙂

What are your weekend plans?

© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/

6 responses to “Titillate These Ideas

  1. LOL. Great post! And you answered my question about shoes! Thank you. Off to check out the Helios. I recently ran with a trail running group. Man, those boys can take off. Luckily I wasn’t the only girl. And we kept in our pack.

    And that was great that you got to learn about the bees and pigeons. I used to help my neighbor with his homing pigeons. It was pretty cool considering most people don’t give em much thought.

    You are crazy (in a good way) for pounding 30 miles in day 1. If time permits, I am considering looping back on my trail. i can also sleep when full moon kayaking that night. 😉 Best to you!

  2. Pingback: An Ultra Style Epic Experience | /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/·

Leave a Reply

