Geodal Explorations

As many of you know, I left the States to travel to the United Kingdom on 8 May 2015 in order to attend the BMC International Summer Climbers Meet. There are many things that happened during this amazing event with more details than what I am about to give. Mainly, I want to write more in depth about specific days and include pictures, which is difficult to do considering my current position/time/location. Nevertheless, I want to be able to give a brief update thus far while I have the ability to do so.

Atop a Boulder Problem at Mt. Llanberis Pass just outside of the Climbers Hut.

Atop a Boulder Problem at Mt. Llanberis Pass just outside of the Climbers Hut.

As with most of my climbing adventures, the meaning is more than merely climbing; it is a continuum of “filling the void”. Climbing is an introspective lifestyle that I have chosen and provides me with insight into my life, thoughts, and my own space on this Earth.

The Climbers Hut

The Climbers Hut

This trip to climb in North Wales, more than anything, opened my eyes to just how much my mental capacity effects my dance on the rock (and ultimately my life). A lot of the climbing in the North Wales requires a complete and utterly dialed mental state of pure confidence in not only physical strength but mental strength. For example, most of the trad routes here are climbed on mostly (creatively placed) passive gear which I am not use to. Even then, you are required to climb well above your gear here before you have the option of placing more. And actually, I have never once in my life fallen on a passive piece of gear. Can I just hashtag #TrustIssues here?

Mt Llanberis Cottage SP
So regardless of how physically strong I have felt in the States, the mental strength that I know I lack severely effected what I was willing to climb in the UK. In light of the fact that climbing is an equal trifecta of mental, physical, and technical strength, I have often found myself reflecting at night on my weakness – mental strength. How do I gain an unwavering confidence? How do I infect myself with positive thoughts of trusting myself and not doubting my abilities. Alas, this seems to be the ultimate question of this 2015 year.

Mt Llanberis Pass Rocks SP

A crag near the top of Mt. Llanberis Pass.

That being said, the event was absolutely wonderful. Everyone had their own unique story and point of view on climbing and life. Also, I very quickly realized just how much the English adore their tea and their sheer indifference of doing things in the rain…which happens more often than not. Did I mention that some of the routes I climbed here were some of the wettest routes I’ve ever climbed? Even then, the routes were not even that wet by British standards!

Sohpie Whyte (my first UK climbing host) bouldering at the RAC Boulders just North of Mt. Llanberis Pass.

Sohpie Whyte (my first UK climbing host) bouldering at the RAC Boulders just North of Mt. Llanberis Pass.

In the end, I am currently still digesting all of the delicate moments of the trip thus far and now I am on the second leg of my adventure journey. But what is apparent with out a doubt – I cannot help but giggle every time someone with an accent says “cheers”. It’s wholly adorable…to the nth degree.

Cheers 🙂
© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/
Leave a Reply

