soliloquy.

Most of the time, I feel like I take up too much space in this world. I do not know where I fit. The only place I have truly felt at home is in the desert, surrounded by sagebrush and sky. My worries fade to trivial moments, my thoughts are cleansed to quietude, and existing in the world becomes simple.

I will be the first to admit that I know very little and understand even less. I’d like to think I’ve come to peace with that. Yet, letting go of trying to understand is a hard task to accomplish. Maybe the only thing I do understand: when the desert calls my heart home, I must follow. The climate of emotions among the red sand and stone never ceases to break me open. I feel vulnerable and exposed. Broken open and whole. I’ve come to realize that things will always fall apart to feel complete again, and to feel whole again, things must fall apart.

But most of the time, I still feel like I take up too much space in this world. And I don’t know where to fit. I feel like I’m coming undone. Take me home.

Castle Valley Desert 1 SP

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” -Jack Kerouac

© /skin/ /ˈpōətrē/

Leave a Reply

